India and Pakistan joint winners of Asian Champions Trophy 2018

  • 1

The Final of Asian Men’s 2018, Manpreet Singh’s India and Pakistan are declared joint winners as the match was called-off due to bad weather at Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex in Muscat today. The rain pour in heavily 10 minutes before the scheduled start of play. Now India and Pakistan have won the Asian men’s hockey Champions Trophy thrice each. India had clinched the title in the inaugural edition in 2011 as well as in 2016, whereas Pakistan won the 2012 and 2013 editions. Earlier, in the round-robin stage, India defeated Pakistan 3-1 after going one goal down in the first minute of the match. In the 2018 Asian Hockey Championship, India scored 28 goals while Pakistan able to beat the opponent’s goalkeeper 18 times.