By-elections 2018: Upset for PTI as PML-N gains big in Punjab

News by:
  • 5

Unofficial results began to pour in on Sunday as officials counted vote for by-elections on 35 constituencies of National and provincial assemblies.

Both the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) won four National Assembly seats each in the by-election. The PML-N also gained in Punjab.

The National Assembly constituencies where the by-elections were held included NA-35 Bannu, NA-53 Islamabad, NA-56 Attock, NA-60 Rawalpindi, NA-63 Rawalpindi, NA-65 Chakwal, NA-69 Gujrat, NA-103 Faisalabad, NA-124 Lahore, NA-131 Lahore and NA-243 Karachi East.

A total of 370 candidates contested the by-elections on 11 National Assembly seats.